Logo Seebrücke Schweiz

Safe harbours in Austria

In Austria, several local groups are working for the implementation of safe harbours.

These cities, municipalities and provinces have already declared their solidarity (as of 05.01.21):

  • Municipality of Herzogenburg (in the province of Lower Austria)
  • Districts in Vienna (in the federal state of Vienna): 4th Wieden, 6th Mariahilf, 7th Neubau, 8th Josefstadt, 9th Alsergrund, 12th Meidling, 21st Floridsdorf
  • Districts in Graz (province of Styria): V. Bezirk Gries
  • The province of Tyrol has agreed to take in additional refugees.
  • In Innsbruck, the Round Table Moria was founded by four organizations, among others the Seebrücke and has worked on a consensus paper with responsible politicians, to offer reception for people from the Greek camps. After three months, the Innsbruck city government agreed on a letter to the federal government, which was finally sent by Mayor Georg Willi on 21.12.2020.
  • As a result of the situation in Afghanistan, Mayor Willi addressed an open letter to Interior Minister Karl Nehammer and Foreign Minister Alexander Schallenberg on 17.08.2021, stating “Innsbruck has space and can and will offer protection.”
  • The city of Salzburg has declared its solidarity with people on the run. The city wants to commit itself to safe escape routes and sea rescue, to long-term arrival in the city, prospects of staying and, within the scope of its possibilities, against deportations. They want to network nationally with their demands.

Further locations/districts are currently in preparation or not yet confirmed.

The extent of the reception capacities and the willingness to take in refugees in Austria is also shown on the “Map of Safe Places”. There it is assumed that there are about 3000 sustainable places for people from Moria alone.